If you sustained injuries in a Florida auto accident, you likely need to get a copy of the accident report for your claim. If you need a Florida accident report lookup, you can choose to request your report online, in person, or by mail. Requesting Florida Highway Patrol traffic crash reports is reasonably straightforward. Here’s a look at how you can obtain FHP accident records.

How Do I Look Up an Online Accident Report in Florida?

If you want to request your accident report online from the Florida Highway Patrol, visit the Florida Crash Portal. Enter your report number if you have it.

There is a standard fee of $10 per accident report, plus a $2 added convenience fee for each payment transaction. You can pay for your report using major credit cards such as MasterCard, Visa, Discover Card, and American Express.

Once you request your FHP accident report online, check your email for a download link to a Zip file with PDF files. Be advised you have only 48 hours to download the report from the time of the request. Note: do not request a report for an accident under ten days old.

Law enforcement agencies have ten days after an accident to submit their crash reports.

If you cannot complete a Florida accident report lookup for an accident older than ten days, it may be due to current issues with the system. The FLHSMV notes they are experiencing problems with loading crash reports from some Florida agencies.

They recommend contacting the investigating law enforcement agency directly to order a copy. In the event they cannot grant your request, you can send in a mail request for your FHP accident report.

Requesting Florida Hwy Patrol Accident Reports In-Person

If you prefer to pick up your FL Highway Patrol accident report in-person, you must visit the Florida Highway Patrol Troop Station near where the accident happened. You can look up the FHP Stations here.

Florida State Troopers accident reports are available Monday through Friday from 7 AM until 5:30 PM. Be sure to have a form of identification with you, such as a driver’s license.

Order FHP Police Reports by Mail

To request your FL Highway Patrol accident report by mail, you will need to mail a report request, along with the $10 fee per report to:

Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles

Crash Records
2900 Apalachee Parkway, MS 28
Tallahassee, FL 32399

You must include the $10 fee for the report; otherwise, your crash report request will not be processed. Payment must be in the form of a personal check or a money order. It needs to be made out to “FLHSMV.”

Once you mail your request in, you should receive your Florida accident report within approximately four to six weeks.

Florida Highway Patrol Traffic Crash Reports Exempted from Public Disclosure for 60 Days

While reports may be available to order ten days after the collision, they are exempt from public disclosure for 60 days after the report date. Only parties involved in the crash and other specific parties listed in the Florida statutes have the right to request a report.

Unlawfully disclosing confidential personal information within these 60 days could subject you to criminal penalties. It’s potentially a third-degree felony, which is why it’s crucial to ensure you comply with the non-disclosure rules.

FHP accident records requested within this 60-day window either in person or by mail need to have a Sworn Statement to Obtain a Crash Report.

Why It’s Important to Order Copies of Florida Hwy Patrol Accident Reports

When a Florida Highway Patrol officer responds to the scene of your accident, they create a report with their account of the incident and other important information.

Essential information in the report includes:

  • Involved parties and respective insurance information;
  • Time, date, and accident location;
  • What the conditions were at the time of the accident ;
  • Vehicle damage;
  • Injuries;
  • Whether the police administered any tickets at the scene; and
  • Other pertinent information.

You should request a copy of your report early on in the claims process. While it isn’t binding on your injury claim, it can help paint a better picture of what happened in the accident. You might need it to help fight liability and support your injury claim.